Day #64 – “What is Retirement?”

Retirement – a concept I had no spare time to ponder for the vast majority of my life.  Now at the age of 55, it’s quite suddenly important. 

What is “retirement” in this day and age?  Is it even feasible to expect to retire when I hit 60 or 65 or… whatever?

Money concerns aside, would I be happy as a retired person?  Sometimes a lot of time on your hands is too much time.  Even now, I get antsy after a few days of vacation, eager to get back to work and be productive.  I know I’ve hit my limit when I actually start to dream about work. 

When you retire, you’re supposed to travel and garden and do wood-working and take up new hobbies like playing spades with other retired folk. 

Or…maybe I simply need to redefine what “retired” means to me.  Retool the state of “retirement “, as it were.

Hmm.  Planning. I like planning. 

Time to whip out the pencil and paper and write my unique retirement story. 

Leave a comment